A Lyrical Thread: music for flute, viola and piano

Loading Map....

Date(s) - July 11, 2017
7:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Sarah P. Duke Gardens, Kirby Horton Hall, Doris Duke Center


jonathan bagg laura gilbert molly morkoski


A Bach flute sonata provides elegant counterpoint to music by four 20th-century non-conformists, each of whom made lyricism a guiding principle of his music amid the artistic tumult of the age. Jonathan Bagg, viola, will be joined by Laura Gilbert, flute and Molly Morkoski, piano.

Reynaldo Hahn: “Romanesque” for flute, viola and piano (1910)
J.S. Bach: Sonata in A major for flute and klavier BWV 1032
Bohuslav Martinu: Sonata for viola and piano (1955)
Mieczysław Weinberg: Trio for flute, viola, and piano Op. 127
Maurice Duruflé: Prélude, récitatif et variations Op. 3 (1928)

Subscriptions are $60 and will go on sale May 1. Purchase subscription tickets online beginning May 1.

Single tickets are $25 General Public; $20 Non-Duke Students/Duke Employees; $10 Youth/Duke students. Purchase single tickets online beginning May 15.

You may purchase tickets at the Duke University Box Office, Bryan Center, Upper Level.  The box office is open weekdays 11am-6pm, or you may call 919-684-4444. The box office accepts cash, check, credit cards and Duke Card FLEX payments.

All concerts begin at 7:30pm and will take place in Kirby Horton Hall in the Doris Duke Center at Sarah P. Duke Gardens, 420 Anderson St, Durham, NC 27708. Call 919-684-3698 for directions.

Ciompi Quartet Presents is sponsored by the Department of Music, Sarah P. Duke Gardens, and Ciompi Quartet Fund.