Duke Performances Series ’13-14 Concert no.3

Loading Map....

Date(s) - January 25, 2014
8:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Baldwin Auditorium


The Ciompi pairs the first string quartet Beethoven wrote, opus 18 in D Major, with John Adams’ first classic, the evershifting minimalist piece Shaker Loops (featuring some of the Duke Department of Music’s most talented students). The evening closes with Brahms’ stormy and emotional first quartet, which he published only after a decade of experiments, revisions, and polishing.

Beethoven: String Quartet No. 3 in D Major, Op. 18, No. 3
John Adams: Shaker Loops (with Duke students)
Brahms: String Quartet No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 51, No. 1